I Always Get I love you’s.

Ever since I can remember, I wanted to become a doctor. Not just any doctor, but a pediatrician. I loved the idea of seeing different kids on different days and building relationships. But as I grew older, the relationships I wanted to build with these kids seemed to become more important; so then I wanted to be a play therapist.

I went 5 years believing that play therapy was it for me. I studied psychology both in high school and college. I took a college ready class as a senior in medical terminology to begin teaching me medical talk. It wasn’t until my second year (after failing two psych classes) in college where I realized that play therapy wasn’t for me.

I thought to myself, “what dam job can allow me to build relationship with kids who desperately need it? How can I change the life of 1 child?” That was when I turned to teaching.

Never, in my 10 year old, 15 year old, even 19 year old brain did I ever consider teaching. It wasn’t until I took a class called “Sociological and Philosophical Foundations of Education” where something inside me ignited; Anger. In this class, I found myself feeling pissed off, cheated, lied to and betrayed by the education system. Learning about how standardized testing places every child in the same playing field despite our differences, both culturally and educationally, really did it for me. If you can’t beat them, join them.

Countless hours of reading, lesson planning, going out into the field and observing the craft of teaching. Busting my ass to pass exams in order to get certified, obtaining my degree in Early Childhood and Childhood Education (B.S Bitches!) all this to arrive at this conclusion; Teaching is an art of the heart, because it’s so dam hard.

I can’t remember what it feels like to sleep in till 11 because i’m up by 5:30 everyday (not intentionally on weekends). Most of my Sunday is taken up by grading shitty writing I see improvements on everyday, planning to give a group of 28 my very best, and learning different ways to deliver a lesson to a diverse group of babies.

These kids changed my life. Everyday I learn about the world through their eyes. How hugs should always come before science, the light in their eyes when they learn something new, the hope they have for themselves and the world around them, but more importantly, the trust they have in me to teach them more than they already know.

Teaching is an art of the heart, and I love every single bright face in that room.
-Yes

Leave a comment